21
May
09

Cock Sauce

Mmm...cock sauce

Mmm...cock sauce

Sorry…not that kind of cock sauce 😉 This one actually kinda burns upon hitting your tongue (HAHAHA). It’s the ethnic cousin of tabasco- its thicker, it lingers more, and has a garlicky punch.  It’s formal name? Sriracha, but more affectionately known as “rooster sauce”, due to its rooster logo on front.  At the dinner table with my brothers, however, “pass the cock sauce” is often heard.

After eating my first bowl of pho years ago as a kid, I was hooked. My family has kept a bottle of “cock sauce” in the fridge, the big one, too. 🙂  Asian restaurants and grocery stores were the first to carry these bottles, and its now made its way to restaurants and large chain-store markets. I’ve noticed too, when in American restaurants being able to taste the distinct hot chili flavor. “Tastes like cock sauce, I wonder if thats what they used?” Now an American condiment, the chili, garlic, vinegar, salt, and sugar concoction is everywhere. New York Times sings its praises and discovers its roots here.


2 Responses to “Cock Sauce”


  1. May 21, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    This is my favorite hot sauce of all time. My hubby got me hooked years ago!!

    • 2 Miss Sex & Food
      May 22, 2009 at 12:00 am

      no kidding, I was eating some tofu yesterday and decided it needed some more flavor. I dunked a chunk in a container of red sauce I thought was watered down weak hot sauce, turns out it was sriracha! my eyes watered like crazy


Leave a comment


Welcome to sexandfood!

A blog written by a college gal on what she loves best: sex and food! Tell me what you think, drop me a comment or find me at misssexandfood@gmail.com :)

Pages

May 2009
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31